Skip to content

My Summer List

July 4, 2011

We’ve all heard of a Bucket List. I created a Summer List of everything I’d like to do this summer. We’re a few weeks in now so I thought I’d reflect a little on how it’s going.

First, I had to “make” something for it to be any fun. It started out quite elaborate but I finally settled on a simple calendar template out of word. I colored the backgrounds across certain dates to show vacations, company, etc. Printed on cardstock, trimmed, 2-sided tape the two pieces together, then simply taped it to the fridge.

At first I was seriously intimidated by how much time we have for summer break, ie. time all three boys are home All Day Long. But the weeks have been flying by and before I know it the summer will have passed. We like to cross of the days so they can tell how long until the next big event and I have a visual on how long I have to prepare.

Here are a few things we’ve already done on my Summer List:

Camping! In the backyard and at the ocean. I probably shouldn’t mention this night set off some nastly allergies for all the boys of the house. They all took the weekend to recover. I’m not sure I’ll get them to do it again.

Played tour guide for my Niece. Cape Meares lighthouse here.

Enjoying nature (ie. snakes) right in our own backyard.

Hiked Silver Falls Loop.

Roast Marshmallows (thanks brother!)

Visited Multnomah Waterfall. This time we did the hike from Wahkeena waterfall over to Multnomah. Certainly easier for the little ones.

Played in the river at Hagg Lake.

Rode the Banks to Vernonia Bike ride. We made it 3.5 miles north. I’d still like to ride the entire route but will have to wait for longer-legged company!

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

