Skip to content

Newspaper for Dad

April 27, 2011

My Dad turned 60 this past weekend. He is one of those guys who has EVERYTHING and not only one but two or three of EVERYTHING. So we don’t get him much for holidays. Usually a gift card to eat out or the movies. But this was a big birthday – one that ended in a “0” so it felt like we should do more.

I came up with a (literally) crazy idea. He is obsessed with newspapers. He reads 1-2 of them every day no matter where he is. So I thought it would be fun to make him a personalized newspaper just for him. Once again…What Was I Thinking??? Hours and hours later I collected articles from arm-twisted family members, gathered photos (thankful I’ve digitized them all), created comics (thanks to Pickles), created word puzzles, and even a coupon insert. SO thankful my sister was here for finishing up those last few articles and ads – she made me sit down and finish it!!!

Custom newspaper

-I used Publisher for the page layouts. 14 pages in all.
-Pages are 11×17 printed both sides. Believe me- I tried to find somewhere to print on REAL newspaper but a job of just 10 copies is hard to qualify.
-Saved as a pdf and took to Kinkos. They had it done in a day. I stood there and folded each page individually per paper.

At his birthday party each grandson was given a copy and yelled “Extra Extra, Read all about it!” to deliver them to the adults. It was pretty cute if I may say so myself.

Now on to the next project…and it’s another big one! Yikes!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 7:33 pm

    Anndee, You are truly amazing! I could only dream about pulling off something like this. It’s practically a triumph to just get my dishes washed and clothes folded! šŸ˜€

    Very well done! You have every right to be very proud of yourself!

  2. Katie permalink
    April 27, 2011 7:59 pm

    What a cute idea! And So. Much. Work!!!! I think I’m going to have to hire you if I ever want to do something that ambitious! Great job!

  3. Liz permalink
    April 28, 2011 10:02 pm

    It turned out so great! I know you’ve been working on this for quite some time. I’m sure he will treasure it always!

Leave a Reply

