Skip to content

Monogrammed Towels

January 4, 2011

I was tired of 3 towels in the laundry basket (or floor) 3-4 times a week. And that’s just the kids. That really adds up.

So I went back to childhood memories when my Mom made us each a towel of our own. Mine was pink with eyelet lace and ribbon. My sisters was yellow with ribbon. My brothers was blue. Each of them had our names monogrammed as well, just in case we forgot our color.

So I pulled out my Pottery Barn gift card and went shopping. I quickly realized that even with $50 credit I’d still be paying. At least more than I wanted to pay for kid towels.

Then I resorted to my 15% off savings card from Kohls for their super duper once in a lifetime sale (you know – the ones they have every week). I bought nice big fluffy towels for about $5 each. Much better!

Then one night I finally talked myself into actually finishing the project. I printed their names with a basic font, cut it out and pinned it right on the towel. Then I simply did my zig zag stitch directly on top of the paper. I also stuck a paper on the back but I’m not sure that helped any.

It is nights like this when I’m really glad they all have short names!

Now the rule is they hang them back up after use and I collect them from the bathroom when it’s time to wash.

My Mom was a Genius!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 1:25 am

    This is a great idea! I finally just bought my husband and kids 2 nice, fluffy towels in different colors so I could tell which was which, but I might have to steal this idea for gifts! 🙂

  2. Linda permalink
    January 4, 2011 4:20 am

    You are so clever! The towels look just like the ones in Pottery Barn!
    Now, get those boys trained to hang the towels……Never give up!

  3. January 7, 2011 8:53 pm

    Those turned out really cute! I tried to do a zig-zag stich on my little girls towel to do her name and it was a craft fail. I ended up picking it all out with a seam ripper. Yours looks awesome though!

Leave a comment